Vous êtes ici

Share
 

Tuesday 24 May 2022
13:00 - 14:30 UTC 

06:00 Los Angeles | 9:00 New York | 10:00 Rio de Janeiro
14:00 Lagos | 15:00 Paris | 18:30 New Delhi | 23:00 Sydney

 

The IUSSP Scientific Panel on Couples' Reproductive Health and Fertility organized a debate on the following topic: 

•    "In a gender equitable world, with equity of sexual and reproductive rights for men and women, we would expect that there would be about the same number or more vasectomies as tubal sterilizations among couples wanting to stop childbearing. Yes or no?"
 

Six debaters took
 turns debating alternately in favor of one of the two positions: Deborah Bateson, Priya Nanda and Logan Nickels argued "Yes" while Akanni Akinyemi, Joe Strong and Raquel Zanatta Coutinho argued "No”. The webinar was introduced by IUSSP Panel chair Stan Becker and moderated by Suzana CavenaghiNeetu John and Angela Akol facilitated the Q&A. Ambrose Akinlo provided a summary and reconciliation. 

The webinar included Q&A with the audience, who were invited to cast their vote in favor of one of the arguments before and after the debate.

Results of the initial and post-debate polls:

In the initial poll, a slight majority favoured "yes" (56% vs. 44% "no"). In the post-debate poll, we see that none of the attendees who had initially said "no" changed their mind but 12 of 27 attendees who had initially voted "yes" changed their vote to "no". So the final result of the post-debate poll is "yes" 31% vs. "no" 69%.

  

 

INTRODUCTION

Stan Becker
Johns Hopkins University, United States

 

MODERATOR

Suzana Cavenaghi
Independent researcher, Brazil

 

DEBATERS

Deborah Bateson
Family Planning NSW, Australia

 

Akanni Akinyemi
Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria

 

Priya Nanda
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, India

 

Joe Strong
London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), United Kingdom

 

Logan Nickels
Male Contraceptive Initiative, United States

 

Raquel Zanatta Coutinho
Cedeplar / Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG), Brazil

 

Q&A MODERATION

Neetu John
Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, United States

 

Angela Akol
Ipas Africa Alliance, Nairobi

 

SUMMARY & RECONCILIATION

Ambrose Akinlo
Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria & University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, United States

Donate