Paris, France, 10-11 December 2018

Deadline for submissions: 16 September 2018

The OECD, the CEPII (the French Research Center in International Economics), and its partners from the University of Lille (LEM), Paris School of Economics, Fondazione Rodolfo De Benedetti, the University of Luxembourg and IRES (Université Catholique de Louvain) are jointly organizing the 8th Annual Conference on "Immigration in OECD Countries" on December 10-11, 2018.


The conference will examine the economic aspects of international migration in the OECD countries by mapping the migratory flows and defining their socio-economic determinants and consequences. Topics of interest for the conference include, among others, the determinants of immigration to the OECD, migrants’ self-selection, the labor market and public finance effects of immigration, as well as migrants and refugees social, political and economic integration. 


The Keynote speakers are Jennifer HUNT (Rutgers University) and Dani RODRIK (Harvard University).


For more information:



All papers examining immigration in OECD countries from an economic perspective will be considered. Authors must submit a full paper. The author making the submission must provide the full names, affiliations, and email addresses of all coauthors for each submission. Please note that each individual may present only one paper during the conference, though they may be listed as a co-author on multiple papers.


There is no registration fee. A conference dinner will be hosted on 10 December. The organisers are not able to cover travel and accommodation costs of participation to the conference.



16 September 2018: Deadline for submitting papers

5 October 2018: Authors are notified of the selection results

11 November 2018: Deadline for registration


Submissions and questions to be sent to:



Michel Beine (Université du Luxembourg, CREA), Xavier Chojnicki (Université de Lille, LEM), Patricia Cortes (Boston University), Frederic Docquier (Université Catholique de Louvain, IRES), Jean-Christophe Dumont (OECD), Tommaso Frattini (University of Milan), Albrecht Glitz (Pompeu Fabra), Libertad Gonzalez (Pompeu Fabra), Hubert Jayet (Université de Lille, LEM), Thomas Liebig (OECD), Marco Manacorda (Queen Mary University of London), Anna-Maria Mayda (Georgetown University), Paolo Pinotti (Università Bocconi and Fondazione Rodolfo Debenedetti), Lionel Ragot (Université Paris Nanterre, EconomiX, CEPII), Hillel Rapoport (Paris School of Economics, Université Paris 1 and CEPII), Ariell Reshef (Paris School of Economics, CNRS and CEPII), Jan Stuhler (Carlos III Madrid), Farid Toubal (ENS Cachan and CEPII), Arthur Sweetman (McMaster University).



Jean-Christophe Dumont (OECD), Anthony Edo (CEPII), Hillel Rapoport (Paris School of Economics, Université Paris 1 and CEPII) and Lionel Ragot (Université Paris Nanterre, EconomiX, CEPII).