Share
French

 

What's new


IUSSP Bulletin - Issue 58, Dec 2022


 

Professor Krishnamurthy Srinivasan, Former Director of the International Institute for Population Sciences, Mumbai & National Fellow, Indian Council for Social Science Research (ICSSR), has been selected as the IUSSP Laureate for the year 2023.

 

Register in advance for the award ceremony, 9 March, 13:00–14:30 UTC (8:00 New York | 14:00 Paris | 18:30 New Delhi)


 

IUSSP Webinar: Declining mortality and multi-morbidity at death

Thursday 30 March 2023 - 11:00-12:30 UTC (7:00 New York - 8:00 Brasilia - 13:00 Paris / Cape Town

16:30 New Delhi - 19:00 Shanghai - 22:00 Melbourne)

 

Register in advance.  

 

 

Training workshop on "Demographic microsimulations in R using SOCSIM: Modelling population and kinship dynamics", a Member Initiated Meeting (in person) at the 2023 Annual Meeting of the Population Association of America (PAA), New Orleans, United States, 12 April 2023 (13:00 to 17:00 local time). 

 

Applications closed


 

IPC2025

The XXX International Population Conference (IPC 2025) will take place in Brisbane, Australia, 13-18 July 2025.

 

Read about IUSSP's recent site visit.


 

IPC2021

The XXIX International Population Conference (IPC 2021) took place online from 5 to 10 December 2021.

 

Read the conference report and view in open access a selection of 35 of the keynote, invited and Research Leader sessions.

IUSSP statement on restricting access to abortion, 27 June 2022

 

IUSSP video on the contribution of demography and demographers to understanding and addressing current world population challenges

 

 



Demographers’ contributions to the understanding of the COVID-19 pandemic


 Membership News


Congratulations to the following IUSSP members 

 

 
The European Doctoral School for Demography (EDSD), is happy to announce that Albert Esteve, director of the Center for Demographic Studies-CED, Barcelona Spain, is the new rector of EDSD. Albert is also a member of the current IUSSP Council. 
 
Steven Ruggles who is a recipient of a 2022 MacArthur Fellowship for his work “setting new standards in quantitative historical research by building the world’s largest publicly available database of population statistics”.
 
Zeng Yi who was recently recognized as one of the Healthy Ageing 50 – fifty leaders working to transform the world to be a better place to grow older by UN Decade of Healthy Ageing.
 

New publications from members:

 

Population and the Political Imagination: Census, Register and Citizenship in India, Routledge India, 2022.
Ram B. Bhagat, International Institute for Population Sciences (India)

 

 


In Memoriam

Tony Wrigley (1931-2022)

Tony Wrigley passed away on 25 February 2022. He was a demographer, historian, and geographer, whose work shaped the historical study of population and the Industrial Revolution. He had joined the IUSSP in 1967 and had been elected the 1993 IUSSP Laureate.

 

 


 

Tomas Frejka (1932-2022)

We recently learned of the passing of Tomas Frejka on 17 April 2022, just short of his 90th year. He joined the IUSSP in 1967 and was an active member regularly attending IUSSP conferences and the meetings of IUSSP Committees and Panels. Most recently he served as a member of 2010-2013 IUSSP Scientific Panel on Below Replacement Fertility: Causes, Consequences and Policy Responses.

 


 

Chris Langford (1941-2022)

We are sad to announce that Chris Langford passed away on January 20, 2022. A member since 1970 and a member of the Committee on Comparative Analysis of Fertility (1971-1974), Chris was a key member of the demographic community in Britain for several decades. He was a meticulous scholar and dedicated teacher as well as an authority on much of the Union’s history.

 


Data Revolution

3rd CRVS and gender global conference: "Empowering Women, Saving Lives – Strengthening CRVS Systems"

17-18 October 2022, 12:30-21:00 UTC

 

The aim of the Conference is to engage with key stakeholders on gender and CRVS - including researchers, practitioners, decision makers and policy advocates - in order to ensure that everyone, in particular women and children, is registered, certified and counted by 2030.

 

 

 

IUSSP Statement:  Defining and successfully accomplishing the Data Revolution – The perspective of Demographers

IUSSP members are invited to read and comment on recommendations sent to the UN Secretary General's Independent Expert Advisory Group on the Data Revolution for Sustainable Development.

 

 

SDSN/IUSSP Report: Harnessing the Data Revolution for Development -Issues in the design and monitoring of SDG indicators


IUSSP Panel on Digital Demography


IUSSP Panel on Population Perspectives and Demographic Methods to Strengthen Civil Registration and Vital Statistics Systems


IUSSP/CODATA Scientific Panel on FAIR Vocabularies

 

For more information see: Demography and the Data Revolution


 

IUSSP Project on Family Planning, Fertility and Urban Development 

A project to support early career researchers in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia to produce policy-relevant evidence on family planning and fertility in cities and towns and their links to urban welfare funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. 



 Distance Training 

 

Tools for Demographic Estimation 

This site represents the major output arising from a joint IUSSP and UNFPA project to produce a single volume containing updated tools for demographic estimation from limited, deficient and defective data

 

Population Analysis for Policies & Programmes 

This course introduces users to the methods used by demographers to analyse population data, and the sources of this data and the methods used to collect this data. Throughout the course, students are introduced to the types of issues of interest to demographers through real examples. Included are sessions that introduce broad areas of research through discussion of both global and national trends and sessions that show how demographic methods may be used in researching a range of areas, such as reproductive health, morbidity and health profiles, and the effects of ageing on a population.

Donate