You are here

Share
 

Family Planning Research under
the COVID-19 Pandemic:
How is it going and what are we finding? 

 

Tuesday 23 March 2021
15:00 UTC | 8:00 Los Angeles | 11:00 New York 
16:00 France | 18:00 Uganda | 20:30 India

 
 




 


Almost a year into the pandemic and its resultant lockdown, we now know more about its impact on family planning practice and research to share findings from experiences on collecting data under the pandemic.

With the goal of providing insight into how efforts to safely manage data collection have been undertaken and whether contraceptive access and utilization have changed under the pandemic, the findings that will be presented will help family planning researchers conduct research in pandemic-affected areas and can facilitate interpretation of research findings related to family planning under pandemic circumstances.

Presentations will feature data on field-based data collection in India (Maharashtra, Bihar and Rajasthan), Nigeria, Uganda and Burkina Faso inclusive of statewide monitoring data and outcome evaluation research data.

English/French Interpretation will be provided.

 

MODERATOR

 

Dr. Priya Nanda
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

 

PANELISTS

Tanmay Mahapatra
- CARE India

'On family planning research data collection as part of an ongoing statewide annual monitoring effort of public health system strengthening in Bihar, India.'

 

Anita Raj and Mohan Ghule
- Center on Gender Equity and Health and the University of California, San Diego

'Experiences with follow-up data collection from CHARM2, a family planning intervention study involving a two-armed randomized trial in Maharashtra, India.'

 

Modupe Taiwo 
- Save the Children

'Assessment of the gendered impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on adolescent sexual and reproductive health services in northern Nigeria.'

 

Dinah Amongin
- Makerere University School of Public Health, Uganda

'Preliminary findings on the impact of the COVID pandemic on FP services access and use by women in Uganda.'

Anoop Khanna and Danish Ahmad
- PMA Rajasthan

'On large-scale community-based data collection on family planning during the pandemic in Rajasthan, India.'

 

Georges Guiella
- PMA Burkina Faso

'Impact of COVID-19 on reproductive healthcare-seeking among women in Burkina Faso.'

Donate