You are here

Share
 

Priorities in research on international migration and mobilities: Implications
of the COVID pandemic and its legacies

 

Thursday 5 November 2020
13:00 – 14:30 UTC

8:00 New York | 13:00 London | 14:00 Geneva | 15:00 Cairo
16:30 Tehran | 18:30 New Delhi | 21:00 Shanghai

 

Initial national public health responses to the COVID-19 infection took the form of restrictions on human mobility, first intranational movement, followed quickly by international travel and migration control. This IUSSP webinar will consider first, the role of international mobility and migration regulation in mitigating the geographic spread of the disease, and second, the implications of the era and legacies of the pandemic for international migration research.
 

Members of the WorldPop team at the University of Southampton will present the results of their collaborative program of demographic research addressing the intersections among international mobilities and the pattern and pace of the pandemic. Marie McAuliffe, IOM, and Ayman Zohry, Egyptian Society for Migration Studies, will comment on the implications of the pandemic for priorities in migration policy-relevant analysis and international migration and mobility theory and modelling. To maximize interventions from the audience, general discussion and questions will follow both the keynote presentation, and also the commentaries. 
 
Outcomes of the webinar, and audience interactions, will contribute to the ongoing activities of the IUSSP Panel on International Migration: Strengthening the Knowledge Base for Policy in developing international and national research agenda.
 
The programme will be moderated by Ellen Percy Kraly, Colgate University, New York and Chair, IUSSP Panel on International Migration:  Strengthening the Knowledge Base for Policy, and Mohammad Jalal Abbasi-Shavasi, University of Tehran and IUSSP Council member, will provide synthetic reflections at the conclusion of the discussions.

 

SPEAKERS

WorldPop, University of Southampton: Nick W Ruktanonchai, Jessica Floyd, Shengjie Lai, Corrine Ruktanonchai, Alessandra Carioli, Andrew Tatem.

“Assessing the effects of travel and contact reductions to mitigate the COVID-19 pandemic and resurgence”

 

COMMENTARY BY

Marie McAuliffe 
- International Organization for Migration (IOM)

“Priorities in migration policy research and analysis”

Ayman Zohry
Egyptian Society for Migration Studies (EGYMIG)

“Priorities in demographic theory and modeling of international migration and mobilities” 

 

MODERATOR

Ellen Percy Kraly 
Colgate University, New York
- Chair, IUSSP Panel on International Migration: Strengthening the Knowledge Base for Policy

 

CLOSING REMARKS

Mohammad Jalal Abbasi-Shavasi
University of Tehran and IUSSP Council

“Summary and Reflections:  The way forward for the population sciences”

Donate