You are here

Share


IUSSP Webinar: 


Quantifying COVID-19-related excess mortality in Latin America:

  Demographic analyses of death registration data in Latin America


Friday 17 July 2020

 

13:00 - 14:30 UTC | 15:00 - 16:30 Paris

         9:00 - 10:30 New York | 10:00 - 11:30 Rio de Janeiro


The COVID-19 pandemic has considerably affected the mortality numbers of many countries in the world, and Latin America is now considered the epicenter of the disease. One metric to investigate and analyze the impact of the pandemic is to look at excess mortality.

 

Everton Lima and colleagues at several Brazilian universities and other Latin American centers have collected monthly civil registration data for some of the countries in the region; they analyzed the effects of the disease on small areas by comparing the mortality levels in 2020 with those of 2019.

 

Everton Lima’s presentation and the discussion led by Jenny Garcia and Stephane Helleringer will be followed by Q&As with the audience.


PRESENTER

 


Everton Lima 
University of Campinas, Brazil

 

Member, IUSSP Scientific Panel on Population Perspectives and Demographic Methods to Strengthen CRVS Systems  

 

 

 DISCUSSANTS


Jenny Garcia
French Institute for Demographic Studies - INED

 

 

 

 


Stephane Helleringer 

Johns Hopkins School of Public Health

 

 

 

 

 

MODERATOR

 


Romesh Silva 

United Nations Population Fund - UNFPA

 

Chair, IUSSP Scientific Panel on Population Perspectives and Demographic Methods to Strengthen CRVS Systems 

  

 


CLOSING REMARKS


Montasser Kamal 

Program Leader, Maternal and Child Health, IDRC 

 

 


This webinar is organized by the IUSSP Panel on Population Perspectives and Demographic Methods to Strengthen Civil Registration and Vital Statistics Systems, in collaboration with the International Development Research Centre (Canada) Centre of Excellence on CRVS Systems.


 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Donate