You are here

Share
 

Live Q&A for 
UN World Data 
Forum session 
on
Innovative use of Social Media for
Remote Sensing and SDG Monitoring

 

Monday 19 October 2020
15:00 - 16:00 UTC

11:00 - 12:00 New York | 17:00 - 18:00 Paris | 18:00 - 19:00 Doha

  • To watch the prerecorded session you will first need to register for the UN World Data Forum (two-step registration using attendify)
  • Once you have registered for the conference you can watch the presentations here.
 

The IUSSP will be hosting a live Q&A session with the five panelists in the session on "Innovative use of Social Media for Remote Sensing and SDG Monitoring" held as part of the UN World Data Forum.
 
This Q&A session will start with brief statements from the panelists, summarizing their work. Detailed manuscripts and presentation slides can be found here. Pre-recorded videos of presentations by the panelists will be available through session’s official page, part of the virtual UN World Data Forum.
 
The session is organized by Kiran Garimella, Ingmar Weber, and Emilio Zagheni on behalf of the IUSSP Panel on Digital Demography. The five panelists responding to your questions are Stefano Cresci, Katherine Hoffman Pham, Ridhi Kashyap, Setia Pramana, and Lisa Singh.
 
See full programme below and introductory video here.

 

ORGANIZERS

Kiran Garimella 
- MIT Institute for Data, Systems, and Society (IDSS)

Ingmar Weber 
Qatar Computing Research Institute (QCRI)

Emilio Zagheni  
- Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research (MPIDR) 

 

PANELISTS

Stefano Cresci 
Institute of Informatics and Telematics, National Research Council (IIT-CNR), Pisa, Italy

"Timely and Targeted Information Acquisition from Witnesses via Hybrid Crowdsensing"

Katherine Hoffman Pham
NYU Stern School of Business & UN Global Pulse

"Survey Sampling in the Global South Using Facebook Advertisements"

Ridhi Kashyap
Oxford University

"Using Social Media Advertising Data to Measure the Global Digital Gender Divide"

Setia Pramana
Politeknik Statistika STIS Indonesia & Sub-Directorate Statistical Model Development, BPS Statistics Indonesia

"Innovative Use of Social Media for Remote Sensing and SDGs Monitoring in Indonesia"

Lisa Singh
Massive Data Institute (MDI) & Institute for the Study of International Migration (ISIM), Georgetown University

"Blending Noisy Social Media Signals with Traditional Movement Variables to Predict Forced Migration"

Donate