2022 IUSSP Laureate Ceremony
in honour of
 Peter McDonald


Thursday 30 June 2022
13:00 – 14:30 UTC

9:00 New York | 15:00 Paris | 23:00 Canberra


Peter McDonald, Emeritus Professor of Demography at the Australian National University, Honorary Professor at the University of Melbourne and former IUSSP President, was elected IUSSP's 32nd Laureate. This award recognizes Peter's outstanding contributions to the advancement of population science, notably his contributions to demographic theory, research and training as well as his service to governments in relating demographic research to policy and planning issues.

The ceremony was chaired by IUSSP President Shireen Jejeebhoy and included a number of speakers who addressed various aspects of Peter's career: Gavin Jones, John Casterline, Mary Brinton, Jalal Abbasi-Shavazi, Rebecca Kippen, Jeromey Temple, Ariane Utomo, and  Meimanat Hosseini-Chavoshi.