You are here

Share
 

Extracting Spatial Data
on Environment for Research

A training workshop provided by the
IUSSP Panel on Early Career Perspectives

Wednesday 25 January 2023

12:00 - 15:00 UTC

7:00 New York | 9:00 São Paulo | 13:00 Paris
17:30 New Delhi | 20:00 Shanghai

Deadline for application: 15 December 2022


The nexus of population-environment has been widely discussed in recent times. Demographic data sources often include spatial information: administrative units for censuses and administrative data, cluster coordinates for surveys, etc. However, there are still considerable research gaps on the linkages between population and environment, due to difficulties in access and use of environmental data at the desired spatial and temporal scale. This short training course is designed to enable the participants to understand and utilize various openly available international environmental data sources stemming from remote sensing. During this course, participants will be given hands-on training on QGIS and tools to develop environmental parameters as per their requirements. 


Trainer: Ankit Sikarwar, French Institute for Demographic Studies (INED), France


Language: The training workshop will be conducted in English.


Location: Online, Zoom Meeting


Contents:

-Overview of publicly available environmental data

-Retrieving the data

-Processing the data in QGIS

-Extracting the indicators at desired spatial units


Outcomes: 

With the completion of this training, the participants will be able to retrieve, process, and extract environmental data under the GIS environment.


Target group: 

Early career researchers who already have some experience of mapping in QGIS. Participants who don’t have prior knowledge of QGIS will not be able to benefit from attending this course.  


The training workshop is offered free of charge and restricted to current IUSSP members and student associates.


Application form: 

The number of participants will be limited in order to allow interaction with the trainer. Participants will be selected based on their application. 


Click here to fill out the application form.


Deadline for application: 15 December 2022


Applicants will be informed of the outcome of their application by 25 December 2022.

 

Further instructions will be communicated to the participants who have been selected. 


This training workshop will be recorded and made available on the IUSSP website.

 

ORGANIZER and TRAINER

Ankit Sikarwar 
Institut national d'études démographiques (INED),
   Paris-Aubervilliers, France

- Member of IUSSP's Panel on Early Career Perspectives

 

 

 
Donate