2017 Council and Committee on Nominations Election Results


The Election Committee has completed the examination of the votes and we are pleased to announce that the IUSSP members listed below have been elected and will join Tom LeGrand (IUSSP President-elect) in January to serve on the 2018-2021 IUSSP Council.

Anastasia Gage was elected Honorary President of the Union.

Congratulations to Anastasia Gage and to the newly elected Council Members.

Detailed results of the 2017 election can be read in the Election Committee's report.



Vice President (President Elect 2022-25)

Shireen Jejeebhoy (India)

 Secretary General and Treasurer

Nico van Nimwegen (Netherlands)

Council member for Africa

Council member for Asia and Oceania
Mohammad Jalal Abbasi-Shavazi (Iran, Islamic Republic)

Council member for Europe
Clémentine Rossier (Switzerland)

Council member for Latin-America

Council member for North-America
 David Lam (United States)

Council Member-at-large
Samuel Clark (United States)
 Parfait Eloundou-Enyegue (Cameroon) 
Edith Gray (Australia)
France Meslé (France)


2021 Committee on Nominations

There was also a vote to select members for the 2021 Committee on Nominations. Six members were elected. Their election was ratified by the IUSSP General Assembly on 1 November 2017 in Cape Town, South Africa. 

Alex Chika Ezeh (Nigeria)

Brígida Garcia (Mexico)

Terence Hull (Australia)

Nico Keilman (Netherlands)

Susheela Singh (United States)

Laurent Toulemon (France)


The election was held from 30 July to 1 October 2017. The election were organized via the Internet, using a secure external online voting company, eBallot (Votenet Solutions), an Internet voting service that provides online voting for a large number of associations and companies. The electoral list included all (full) members who were in good standing by 30 June 2017. Student associates do not vote in the elections.


The electoral procedure was controlled by an Election Committee composed of three IUSSP members appointed by the Council: Géraldine Duthé (France), Ann Moore (United States) and Julio Ortega (Ecuador).